Above It All

MEMORIAL DAY AVAILABLE! Above it All - Panoramic Views, Wi-Fi & Fireplace


"Above It All"

Grassy Creek, NC - Enjoy spectacular panoramic views from this lovely chalet. On a clear day you can see forever!!!

The interior offers breathtaking panoramic long-range view and features French doors leading out to the wraparound deck. The great room features two leather sleeper sofas, a wood burning fireplace, a 50-inch TV with Satellite, Wi-Fi and a Foosball table - providing a relaxing getaway! A fully equipped kitchen makes preparing meals a snap. Don’t want to stay inside? Grill a steak on the charcoal grill on the deck while enjoying the mountain views.

The main level bedroom features a comfy queen bed and satellite TV. A hall bath is located on the main level that has both a tub and shower. Upstairs is another bedroom with a queen bed, satellite TV, and a full bath with stand-up shower.

You certainly don’t need to leave Above It All to have a wonderful vacation, but if you do the cabin is close to Grayson Highlands State Park, the world-famous River House restaurant, and the New River for a day of fishing or canoeing. For some winter fun, head to one of our three most popular ski resorts: Appalachian Ski Mtn, Sugar Mtn, or Beech Mtn.

After a day of adventures, everyone will love taking a leisurely stroll down to the shared area pond with picnic tables and seating for all. Above It All is sure to be your favorite mountain retreat.

Dream Mountain Delight and Dream Mountain Lodge is just down the road, offering lodging for family reunions, church gatherings and corporate retreats.

Above It All is a Carolina Mountain Properties & Rentals property. Our calendar and rates are updated instantaneously. We strive to make it as easy as possible to stay at one of our properties. We will notify you proactively when an early check in is possible and you’ll receive the comforts of a luxury home when you arrive with a starter supply of paper products, hand soaps and lotions. In addition, we offer 24/7 emergency after-hours service. Carolina Mountain Properties & Rentals uses one of the industry’s most trusted brand of software to securely store all guest data. All of our vacation rentals follow local and state tax rules. Each reservation includes applicable taxes, cleaning fee, and a processing fee. Carolina Mountain Properties & Rentals also offers an optional trip interruption insurance to protect your investment.

Rooms & Amenities

Property Type Cabin / Bungalow , 2 Story
Beds 2 Queen
Bathrooms 2 Bathrooms
Rooms Sleeps 6 , 1 Sleeper sofa
Pets No Pets Allowed
Standard Amenities combination tub/shower, queen, shower, toilet, tub, autumn foliage, churches, cinemas, festivals, forests, library, live theater, pond, restaurants, theme parks, waterfalls, winery tours, Dining, DVD Player, Satellite / Cable, Television, Smart TV, Air Conditioning, Clothes Dryer, Fireplace, Hair Dryer, Heating, Internet, Linens Provided, Living Room, Parking, Telephone, Towels Provided, Washing Machine, Wifi, Free Wifi, Coffee Maker, Dishes & Utensils, Dishwasher, Kitchen, Microwave, Oven, Pantry Items, Refrigerator, Stove, Toaster, Dining Table, antiquing, bird watching, horseback riding, outlet shopping, photography, scenic drives, sight seeing, walking, ATM/bank, Babysitter, fitness center, groceries, hospital, laundromat, massage therapist, medical services, Mountain View, Deck / Patio, Lawn / Garden, Outdoor Grill, fishing, fly fishing, freshwater fishing, golf, hiking, mountain biking, rafting, skiing, water tubing, whitewater rafting, children welcome, non smoking only, pets not allowed, wheelchair inaccessible, Minimum Age Limit for Renters, Private entrance, flexible, necessary, Dining Area, Outdoor lighting, Deadbolt lock on entryway, Smoke detectors, Carbon monoxide detector, Fire extinguisher, Emergency phone number: Medical, Emergency phone number: Police, Emergency phone number: Fire, Enhanced cleaning practices, Clean with disinfectant, No-contact check-in and check-out, High touch surfaces cleaned with disinfectant, Towels and bedding washed in water that's at least 60sC/140sF
Kitchen Full Kitchen, Refrigerator, Coffee Maker, Microwave, Toaster, Cookware, Dishwasher
Living Central Air, Air Conditioning, Ceiling Fans, Linens, Washer & Dryer, WIFI - High Speed Internet, Fireplace, Fireplace - Wood
Business Nearby ATM, Nearby Post Office, Nearby Internet Cafe, Nearby FedEx, Nearby Bank
Convenience Nearby Medical Services, Nearby Grocery, Movie Theatres, Golf Course
Outdoor Deck, Charcoal Grill, Biking, Fishing, Hiking
Geographic New River, Grayson Highlands State Park, VA, Mount Jefferson State Park, New River State Park
Entertainment Cable TV, Satellite TV, DVD Player, Foosball, Smart TVs


Dates Daily Weekly Monthly Minimum Stay Checkin Restrictions
4/28/2024 - 5/23/2024 $107 N/A N/A 2 Tue, Weds, Thur checkin only
5/24/2024 - 5/26/2024 $116 N/A N/A 2 Fri, Sat, Sun checkin only
5/27/2024 - 6/15/2024 $102 - $123 $743 - $811 N/A 2 No restrictions
6/16/2024 - 6/29/2024 $134 - $144 $958 N/A 2 No restrictions
6/30/2024 - 7/6/2024 $155 $1,085 N/A 3 No restrictions
7/7/2024 - 8/29/2024 $134 - $144 $958 $4,100 - $4,120 2 No restrictions
8/30/2024 - 9/1/2024 $165 N/A N/A 3 Fri, Sat, Sun checkin only
9/2/2024 - 10/3/2024 $113 - $123 $811 $3,470 2 No restrictions
10/4/2024 - 11/2/2024 $134 - $141 $958 $4,120 3 No restrictions
11/3/2024 - 11/23/2024 $113 - $123 $811 N/A 2 No restrictions
11/24/2024 - 11/30/2024 $175 $1,225 N/A 3 No restrictions
12/1/2024 - 12/21/2024 $142 - $153 $1,016 N/A 2 No restrictions
12/22/2024 - 1/1/2025 $153 - $175 $1,159 - $1,225 N/A 3 No restrictions
1/2/2025 - 1/16/2025 $109 - $119 $783 N/A 2 No restrictions
1/17/2025 - 1/20/2025 $119 - $129 N/A N/A 2 Mon, Fri, Sat, Sun checkin only
1/21/2025 - 2/13/2025 $109 - $119 $783 N/A 2 No restrictions
2/14/2025 - 2/17/2025 $119 - $129 N/A N/A 2 Mon, Fri, Sat, Sun checkin only
2/18/2025 - 4/23/2025 $109 - $119 $783 $3,350 - $3,370 2 No restrictions
4/24/2025 - 4/28/2025 $109 - $125 N/A N/A 2 Mon, Thur, Fri, Sat, Sun checkin only
4/29/2025 - 5/22/2025 $109 N/A N/A 2 Tue checkin only

*Seasonal rates are estimates only. Actual rates may differ. Seasonal rates do not include fees or taxes.

26 Reviews

Overall satisfaction
Property condition

88.46% of our reviewers would recommend this vacation rental.

Relaxing above the treetops.

Dale F. from Kannapolis, NC, US
Stayed 3 days ending August 2023

Great place to get away from it all. Quiet place with gorgeous views.

Manager Responded on 8/30/2023

Thank you for leaving a review of your recent stay at Above It All. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed "getting away from it all!"

Stayed at Above it All Cabin.

James G. from Pembroke Pines, Florida
Stayed 4 days ending February 2023

Stay was nice. Beds could have been bigger. Pillows a little less flatter. Kitchen Utensils could have been more Diverse. TOWELS NEED AN UPGRADE.

Manager Responded on 3/27/2023

Thank you for leaving a review. We will definitely check on the towels and upgrade them.

Loved it!!

Anonymous from Christiansburg, VA
Stayed 2 days ending January 2021

We loved the cabin. We found it to be as advertised; beautiful and fully stocked. The view is gorgeous! The cabin was clean and well-maintained, and the property management team were friendly and responsive to questions I had before our trip. Would recommend!

Great view

Gene W. from Richmond, VA, US
Stayed 3 days ending March 2021

Furnishings were cheap. Disappointing.


raul s. from Fort Myers, florida
Stayed 3 days ending June 2021

One of a kind experience away from all city life. I loved my stay.

Manager Responded on 6/15/2021

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Above It All.

A perfect place.

Mary S. from Portsmouth, VA
Stayed 4 days ending July 2021

It was very peaceful and enjoyable. We really had a nice time, we were there for business and medical treatment. We were able to get everywhere we wanted to with ease. The cabin was so pretty,

Manager Responded on 7/21/2021

Thank you for leaving a review of your recent stay at Above It All. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

Above It All Weekend Stay

Carolyn C. from Pfafftown, NC, US
Stayed 2 days ending October 2019

Other than the numerous stink bugs, several lady bugs, and a few wasps, the stay was great. The cabin was clean and spacious, and the view is absolutely amazing. The deck could use some paint, but it wasn't unsafe. Check in and out was very seamless. The cost of a night's rental was reasonable ($175), but by the time all the fees and taxes were added, the cost almost doubled. Seemed a little steep, but still enjoyed the stay. It's a 20 minutes or so drive to West Jefferson where there's lots of places to shop and nice places to eat.

Manager Responded on 11/5/2019

We are delighted to hear that your stay was great at Above It All. During the warm fall days, we do experience issues with ladybugs and stink bugs as they look for a warm place. The cabin offers gorgeous long range views and is just 20 minutes from West Jefferson where you can explore the shops or dine out. We look forward to having you stay with us again.

other than the view, request more pictures of home before booking

Gema M. from Pembroke Pines, FL, US
Stayed 6 days ending January 2020

Not what we expected.....outdated...and filthy rugs
Tiny old uncomfortable beds and bugs everywhere

Manager Responded on 1/13/2020

Thank you for leaving a review of your stay at Above It All. We certainly wish you had contacted us during your stay regarding the issues you mention. We would have been happy to addressed them.

best getaway

Christina W. from Canal Winchester, OH
Stayed 3 days ending May 2020

We truly relaxed to the fullest potential in this beautiful home. It was so quiet! Breaking away from all the overstimulating parts of everyday life was worth every penny. We will be back!

Manager Responded on 5/26/2020

We are delighted to hear that you were able to "truly relax" at Above It All. It offers amazing views. We look forward to having you stay with us.

Nice house but poor management

Brian L. from Long Island City, NY, 1
Stayed 2 days ending June 2020

House was nice. Check in process is antiquated. Had to call exactly between 3 and 5 to get into the house. No pots to cook with in the kitchen so had to buy a new one. House wasn't cleaned properly; there were ladies undergarments in the sheets when we pulled the sheets off to leave the house meaning that sheets weren't washed. Foosball table was broken.

Manager Responded on 7/2/2020

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your recent stay at Above It All. We do ask guests to call between 3 & 5 pm to receive their lockbox code so that we have time to prepare the home if other guests have departed earlier in the day. If guests have a cell provider that does not work in the area we will work with him or her to ensure that the code is given before service is loss. We do have an after hours number and certainly wish that you had called with the issues that you mentioned about. We would sent someone out to rectify those issues.

A beautiful view

Deborah P. from Wesley Chapel, FL, US
Stayed 2 days ending July 2020

We stay only two nights for the 4th of July weekend. But what a view. Place was clean and comfortable. Would definitely stay here again when we come back.

Manager Responded on 7/16/2020

We are delighted your enjoyed your stay at Above It All. We look forward to having you stay with us again.

A bit of heaven

Alvin P. from Knoxville, TN
Stayed 3 days ending June 2020

View was breathtaking The cabin was clean and roomy. The solitude was very nice. Working with North Carolina cabin rentals was very easy.

Manager Responded on 7/2/2020

We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed you stay at Above it All. We look forward to your next visit.

Heavenly View

John S. from Cape Coral, FL, US
Stayed 6 days ending July 2020

View was great. Very far away from town and places to go but that is why the view was so good. House was clean. Not enough dishes. No large pot to cook in. No baking dish for baked ziti. Bedding was very uncomfortable. We did enjoy ourselves with the peace and quiet. Ate all our meals on deck that was awesome. Lots of bugs inside house which was not fun with grandkids who hate bugs.

Manager Responded on 9/3/2020

Thank you for leaving a review of your recent stay at Above It All. We will be adding more pots and dishes per your review. The home is in the mountains and the evening sun does attract bugs to the windows. Bug busters have been installed. We do hope you will stay with us again.

Family Winter Retreat at Above It All

Anonymous from Miami, FL, US
Stayed 3 days ending January 2021

Phenomenal view, beautiful and spacious cabin. Well-stocked kitchen. Only negative was outdoor grilling needs an upgrade and a boot cleaning station at entryway would facilitate keeping floor clean.

Peaceful, private, and a great view.

Anonymous from Thunder Bay, ON, Canada
Stayed 26 days ending July 2015

We had a great stay. We enjoyed the breath-taking views in the mornings accompanied by the songs of many different birds. The location is peaceful and the people, when you see them, are laid-back and friendly. The cabin was spacious and spotless, everything worked fine, and the new hardwood floors and leather couches made the place look new. Tastefully decorated. The rental management was friendly and on the ball-- the compressor on our central air-conditioner broke, and was repaired on the same day we called it in.

Fall vacation at grassy creek

Bob K. from Hollister, NC
Stayed 7 days ending September 2015

We loved the cabin and it's location. The view was fantastic. The staff was very courteous and most helpful.

Great view, convenient, Grayson Highlands and New River nearby

Robert E. from Winston-Salem, NC
Stayed 2 days ending October 2015

It's a beautiful cabin perched up on top of a mountain, and it has a gorgeous 90 degree view to the east and south (you can see the sunrise). The cabin itself was stocked with a small supply of all the essentials (dish soap, toilet paper, cork screw, laundry detergent, kitchen towels, etc.) so it's a relief not to have to pack all of those things. Grayson Highlands Park is about 30 minutes away, and New River State Park is maybe 15 minutes away.

I wouldn't want to drive up there in the snow or during an intense thunderstorm, but our little Toyota did just fine on the winding country road. I also don't recommend checking in after dark, unless you've been there before -- this cabin really is tucked away. I'm looking forward to going back on a clear night when the stars are out in full force.

Nice vacation

Richard L H. from Jacksonville, FL
Stayed 4 days ending August 2016

Splendid location and amenities. Nestled away in the mountains with spectacular views.

Perfect mountain getaway.

Robert M. from Ladson, SC
Stayed 2 days ending October 2016

Beautiful views. Very relaxing and peaceful. On a clear morning you can see the sunrise to the east coming up over the mountains. The cabin was clean and has all the amenities one could want in a mountain getaway vacation, including WIFI if you still need some connection to the world you left behind temporarily. This was our first time but going forward, this location will be a frequent getaway for our family.

north carolina getaway

rex h. from cullman, al
Stayed 3 days ending October 2016

very relaxing
but had hundreds of lady bugs and a few red wasps

Manager Responded on 10/31/2016

So glad to hear that you had a relaxing stay at Above It All. Unfortunately during this time of year, ladybugs are attracted to warm, sunny surfaces, such as the sides and roofs of buildings. They accidentally enter inside by tiny cracks and window runners. Scores of removals have been undertaken, only to have them reappear in less than a day's time. These insects only live a short time and therefore you may find dead ladybugs in the cabin. Rest assured that your cabin was cleaned before your arrival, though you may find a few dead lady bugs.

We enjoyed our stay

Anonymous from Westlake, OH
Stayed 6 days ending January 2017

The house itself has great views and is in good condition. The area is quiet and calm. Wifi works well. While they provide linens and towels I suggest you bring your own. They all really need to be replaced...especially the bedspreads. The ladybug situation others describe is quite real. Plan on sweeping and vacuuming them up everyday. Needs more floor/table lamps and some a couple of additional end tables. Not a luxury property though okay for the price. Clearly this is a rental unit rather than the owners pride and joy. If you need firewood or some basic groceries visit the Grayson Highlands General Store & Inn...owned by a very friendly and hospitable guy.

Great Little house - Amazing Views!

Anonymous from Matthews, NC
Stayed 2 days ending May 2017

House was very clean exactly as pictured. There were some dead lady bugs that other guests mentioned -Not a big deal to us and expected... you are in the wilderness there are bugs.... The views from the house are incredible! This is not one of those houses that sits on the side of the main road. Expect a little bit of a drive. The Community Pond pictured is down the mountain just a little ways away and there is another house that sits below, however it is very peaceful.

Warning – if you have AT&T cell service you will lose all signal in the mountains very quickly and will not be able to call in (or Receive texts) for your access code for check-in. Certainly, I am not the first person this has happened to, but it was never mentioned to me by the rental company. Luckily a nice lady working the register at Citgo let me call on her personal cell phone and all was good, but wished this would have been addressed earlier. Would also suggest you download a map of the area for offline viewing via google maps. It’s not perfect but we found it to be very helpful in our trips to see the ponies at Grayson Highlands and the Creeper Trail.
The living room was very roomy – could use some extra seating in addition to the two sofas for when the weather does not allow the porch. (Would not suggest the sleeper sofa for adults our kids were fine but the mattresses are very thin, although the couches themselves were very comfy for sitting). The kitchen was very clean, but is extremely basic in stock.

The views from the deck are incredible, but if you plan on sitting, the view is obstructed by the deck railing once you lean back into those uncomfortable plastic Adirondack chairs. Owners would suggest you replace them with rockers or other chairs that sit higher up so you can enjoy and maximize the view.
We absolutely had an incredible trip, and even with all the little things mentioned above we would stay here again.
Great little house with amazing views of

Manager Responded on 6/1/2017

We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Above It All. Cell phone service can be spotty based on the different carriers. We will also check into getting some more comfortable outdoor seating. We certainly hope you will stay with us again in the near future.

White Christmas

Anonymous from Oviedo, FL
Stayed 6 days ending December 2017

Great family vacation for Christmas.

Manager Responded on 1/10/2018

Thank you for leaving a review of your recent stay at Above It All.

Spring Break Getaway

Anonymous from Greensboro, NC,
Stayed 2 days ending March 2019

We loved the views from this property and all of the sunshine through the south-facing wall of windows. The porch was too windy for us to enjoy the weekend we were there, but in different weather it would also be nice.

Manager Responded on 4/23/2019

Above It All does offer great views. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay!

Stay at 174 Dream View

Anonymous from High Point, NC
Stayed 7 days ending October 2019

Great Vacation only problem was stink bugs!

Manager Responded on 10/14/2019

Thank you for leaving a review of your recent stay at Above It All. Stink bugs does show up many homes, They do not bite and only stink when killed. Stink bugs are most active on warm days or enter a home when looking for a warm place. You can remove stink bugs, but they can quickly return. We do hope you understand. We look forward to having you stay with us again in the future.

Nice cabin with beautiful view, but room for improvement

Carey I. from Jeff, KY
Stayed 2 days ending August 2019

Cabin was very nice, clean, and view was great but overall in need of a little TLC. WiFi worked well. Spacious cabin and layed out well, especially for entertaining with large, open 1st floor and wrap around deck. . Staff were helpfull and friendly. We were unable to locate the cabin with directions provided and gps unable to help even when we did have service. Had to call the after hours number for directions and lady was pleasant.
Little things that add up to be annoying...
the middle of nowhere! Driving anywhere seems to take forever and finding the cabin was difficult. It’s up a long, gravel road.
Bed wasn’t made? Was nearly dark when we 1st arrived and sheets/pillow cases were folded at end of bed for us to make ourselves. We found that strange. There were also multiple light bulbs out, both inside and out, which made it harder to navigate from the driveway to front door. We changed several of them ourselves with extra bulbs we found in a cabinet. On top of that, a wasp was building a nest at the front door overhang.
The lawn needed trimmed up and I wish there were better furnishings on the deck. It’s too nice to have cheap plastic Adirondack chairs out there. Lastly, updating the linens and pillows would be nice. The sheets and pillow cases were mismatched and the pillows were cheap, flat, Wal-mart brand. We still rested and well and appreciated that there were plenty of bath towels.
Overall, we were happy during our stay.

Manager Responded on 8/21/2019

Thank you for leaving a review of your recent stay at Above It All. This property is approximately 20 to 25 minutes from the towns of West Jefferson and Jefferson. We do make up the master bed but leave sheets folded at the foot of the other beds so you know that the sheets are clean. Mowings are scheduled every two weeks at this property. Sheets and linens are inspected and replaced as needed. This will be checked on. We do hope you will stay with us again in the near future.