The Hideaway

NOW BOOKING THE HIDEAWAY Cabin for Two w/Privacy Overlooking River w/Hot Tub!


"The Hideaway"

Crumpler, NC - Ready for a relaxing weekend or week with your spouse at an affordable cabin that sports an outdoor hot tub? The Hideaway is just the place! You'll enjoy the wonderful mountain and river views from the rockers on the porch of this quaint one-bedroom cabin. It's location is great too. It is situated less than a mile from the famous New River General Store where you can rent a canoe and spend the day on the river relaxing and fishing! Inside the cabin you'll find an electric fireplace in the cozy living room, a complete kitchen and bedroom with queen bed. In addition, there's smart TV in Living room w/satellite TV also, air conditioning, a washer/dryer, and it allows well-behaved pets with pet fee.

The Hideaway is a Carolina Mountain Properties & Rentals property. Our calendar and rates are updated instantaneously. Contact us atto reserve. We strive to make it as easy as possible to stay at one of our properties. We will notify you proactively when an early check in is possible and you’ll receive the comforts of a luxury home when you arrive with a starter supply of paper products, hand soaps and lotions. In addition, we offer 24/7 emergency after hours service. Carolina Mountain Properties & Rentals uses one of the industry’s most trusted brand of software to securely store all guest data. All of our vacation rentals follow local and state tax rules. Each reservation includes applicable taxes, linen cleaning fee, and a processing fee. Carolina Mountain Properties & Rentals also offers an optional trip interruption insurance to protect your investment.

Rooms & Amenities

Property Type Cabin / Bungalow , 1 Story
Unit Code ThHdwy
Beds 1 Queen
Bathrooms 1 Bathroom
Rooms Sleeps 2
Pets Cats, Dogs
Standard Amenities combination tub/shower, queen, toilet, autumn foliage, churches, cinemas, festivals, library, live theater, restaurants, Dining, Satellite / Cable, Television, Air Conditioning, Heating, Linens Provided, Living Room, Parking, Telephone, Towels Provided, Washing Machine, Coffee Maker, Dishes & Utensils, Kitchen, Microwave, Oven, Refrigerator, Stove, Toaster, antiquing, horseback riding, outlet shopping, photography, scenic drives, sight seeing, walking, Mountain View, Water View, Deck / Patio, Outdoor Grill, Hot Tub, cycling, fishing, fly fishing, freshwater fishing, golf, hiking, mountain biking, skiing, water tubing, children welcome, non smoking only, pets considered, Minimum Age Limit for Renters, flexible, necessary, Dining Area, Enhanced cleaning practices, Towels and bedding washed in water that's at least 60sC/140sF
Kitchen Full Kitchen, Refrigerator, Coffee Maker, Microwave, Toaster, Cookware
Living Air Conditioning, Ceiling Fans, Linens, Washer & Dryer, Fireplace - Electric
Business Nearby ATM, Nearby Post Office, Nearby Internet Cafe, Nearby FedEx, Nearby Bank
Convenience Area FitnessCenter, Nearby Medical Services, Nearby Grocery, Outlet Shopping, Movie Theatres, Golf Course
Outdoor Deck, Hot Tub, Charcoal Grill, Biking, Fishing, Hiking
Geographic Blue Ridge Parkway, New River, Grayson Highlands State Park, VA, W. Kerr Scott Lake Nearby, Grandfather Mountain, Stone Mountain State Park, Elk Knob State Park, Mount Jefferson State Park, New River State Park
Entertainment Satellite TV, DVD Player
Pets Pets Up to 25LB, Pets Up To 40LB, Pets - All Sizes


Dates Daily Weekly Monthly Minimum Stay Checkin Restrictions
4/28/2024 - 5/23/2024 $142 $994 N/A 2 No restrictions

*Seasonal rates are estimates only. Actual rates may differ. Seasonal rates do not include fees or taxes.

35 Reviews

Overall satisfaction
Property condition

80.00% of our reviewers would recommend this vacation rental.

New River Cottage

Anonymous from Greenville, NC, US
Stayed 3 days ending October 2022

A beautiful location overlooking the New River. Quiet and cozy. Very enjoyable.

Manager Responded on 10/19/2022

Thank you for leaving a review of your recent stay at The Hideaway. We look forward to having you stay with us again.

The Hideaway review

Anonymous from GRAHAM, North Carolina
Stayed 3 days ending July 2022

Great place for a quiet getaway. It was very clean and cozy. The photos are a great. The bed was soft and the area was peaceful and quiet. The only thing missing was the rocking chairs on the porch, they were just regular outdoor chairs. We would stay here again.

Manager Responded on 8/12/2022

Thank you for leaving a review of your recent stay at The Hideaway.

Cute Little Cabin

Sandra C. from New Bern, NC
Stayed 3 days ending January 2021

Loved the hot tub. Our trip was a peaceful get away. Thanks

Accommodating Stink Bugs

Anonymous from Statesville, NC, US
Stayed 2 days ending October 2021

The property itself was nice.
The uninvited guests were not.
Stink bugs are part of the package of staying at this property.
I live in the country and am familiar with these pests.
For the most part they aren’t a nuisance if there are just a few.
This property missed the extermination window for control as there were dozens; during the day that hung around the windows and doors, flying from one area to another, landing on surfaces in between including on my Husband or on me. We made an effort to keep the doors closed between quick in’s and outs.
In the evenings the Stink bugs migrated into any bedding, linens or furniture surfaces finding cracks or crevices to den in.
I did not enjoy having them join us in bed during the nights.
The Slider and screen out to the deck was a challenge due to lack of lubrication plus a bent frame on the sliding screen door, not allowing us to leave the door open and screen shut for fresh air. Never mind opening the blinds which housed many of the bugs.
At days end we hoped to watch a movie on the HD TV, but there were no options except outdated movies from years past.
The day provided fishing on the River, but the water level was too low to support anything catchable.
We tried to enjoy ourselves around these obstacles, but by the end of the weekend we just wanted to leave, and head home.
I hope for the sake of the Home Owners income, they can address these issues. The Stink bugs have a pretty long season especially if they find refuge inside.
After this experience and looking over my final Vrbo costs and fees, I felt robbed.
S. Lapolla

Manager Responded on 1/1/1970

Homey small cabin

Anonymous from Holly Ridge, NC
Stayed 3 days ending October 2019

Weather great. Cabin nice but musty smell. Water smelly, like sulfur. One of advertising pictures had white rocking chairs. That was one of the features I really liked. Many spider nests of eggs under the Eve's of back porch.

Manager Responded on 10/30/2019

Thank you for your review of The Hideaway. The cabin does have sulfur water which can smell if not ran for a few minutes. We will be addressing the spider webs and nests that you mentioned. We look forward to having you stay with us again in the future.

11-13 Oct 2019

Anonymous from New Bern, NC, Unknown
Stayed 2 days ending October 2019

The place was amazing. Only thing I would recommend is to put something in the Description about the driveway. I had a Dodge Challenger and if I had known the driveway was like it is I would have brought my truck instead but other than that we had an amazing time. Thank you.

Manager Responded on 10/30/2019

Thank you for leaving a review of your recent stay at The Hideaway. We will be addressing the driveway with the owner. We look forward to having you stay with us again in the future.

The river is beautiful, BUT

Anonymous from Taylorsville, NC, US
Stayed 4 days ending July 2020

I wouldn't recommend this place in the heat of the summer. The one window air conditioner couldn't keep up; we had to put a fan in the hall, hoping to push the air down the hall to the bedroom at night. At one point, it reached close to 80 degrees in the house. It's also very small, so I wouldn't recommend to someone that wants or needs extra room. I personally would've made sure that the property was mowed and trimmed before guests arrived. It has a rather narrow driveway, and it was badly overgrown (and spider-webby.) Someone did come out the day before we left. From the picture, you can't really see how far it is from the river. It's on the side of a hill, with no river access down below, just river view, but it is a beautiful view!

Manager Responded on 9/3/2020

We appreciate you taking the time to leave a review of your stay at The Hideaway. This is a small home and is only advertised as accommodating two people. We did have extremely warm temperatures during your stay. The owners are looking at putting central AC for the comfort of their guests. This property is mowed on a regular basis and due to schedules and weather it may be delayed. The river is down below the property and a small country lane separates the cabin from the river. We do hope you will stay with us again at another one of our properties.

Hideaway Review

Jon T. from Charlotte, NC, US
Stayed 3 days ending July 2020

Overall a nice stay. One main area to improve on that would make it better is the outside area; pressure wash the deck (extremely slippery when wet) repair/replace exterior sides of hot tub, gaps in the siding are attractive to the wasps that are in there. (Hot tub itself worked well) Perhaps making part of the deck into a covered screen room for rainy days, a table and umbrella would have been nice on the deck. Fix/Replace the central air system and get rid of the window AC units. While they are better than nothing, they are not very efficient and make a lot of noise. Overall the rental was clean and we enjoyed our stay.

Manager Responded on 9/3/2020

Thank you for leaving a review of your recent stay at The Hideaway. The owners are looking at replacing the central AC. The window units are only temporary. We will also be passing your other suggestions along. We do hope you will stay with us again.

Great retreat

Jason G. from Hickory, NC
Stayed 2 days ending July 2020

We found the cabin to be a great place for a get away for a few days.

Manager Responded on 9/3/2020

We are delighted to hear that you find "The Hideaway" to be a great place for a getaway.

river views

Mary E. from Durham, NC, US
Stayed 2 days ending August 2020

Nice small cabin with great views. The photos show that there are rocking chairs on deck but they had been replaced by not so comfortable chairs. Hot tub was nice. Television is very small. Kitchen is outfitted pretty decently.


Anonymous from Mooresville, NC, US
Stayed 2 days ending September 2020

It was cute and cozy. Perfect for two people but would not recommend for anymore. Tubing and kayaking is at the end of the driveway which was very nice. Hot tub was nice. My only complaint is the porch isn’t covered. It was raining on our first night and we couldn’t enjoy the cool air or rain.

Manager Responded on 10/22/2020

Thank you for leaving a review of your recent stay at The Hideaway. This home only accommodates 2 people so its great for a couple. The owners have chosen to leave the porch uncovered. We do hope you will stay with us again.

Great Get-Away

Cheryl P. from YOUNGSVILLE, NC, US
Stayed 3 days ending November 2020

The cabin is perfect for two to escape the noise of life, to reconnect and decompress. It has a peaceful, relaxing view and offers quiet and privacy.


Baker D. from Stokesdale, NC
Stayed 3 days ending August 2017

It was nice.

Manager Responded on 8/23/2017

Thank you for leaving a review of The Hideaway. We look forward to having you stay with us again.

A trailer, not a cabin.....

Joe F. from Apex, NC
Stayed 3 days ending June 2017

Overall I would give this place a 4 out of 10. First of all it's a 3 room trailer, so I would not call it a cabin. It is located on an old logging trail on the side of a steep mountain. The pictures make it look like the river is right out the back, but in fact you have to walk back down the road a few hundred feet to get to the river.
On the bright side once you get to the river (if fishing is what you came for, which it was for me, all is good).

Manager Responded on 6/26/2017

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of The Hideaway. The is a short distance away from the property. The home is actually a park model home. If you wish for a riverfront home for you next stay, just ask. We have numerous property with river frontage.

Awesome retreat

Anonymous from Mt Olive, NC
Stayed 3 days ending July 2017

Very peaceful and serene

Manager Responded on 7/18/2017

Thank you for leaving a review of The Hideaway. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon.

Great little get away!

Anonymous from Harmony, NC
Stayed 2 days ending August 2017

Property is in a great location near the New River. It is 1/10 of a mile from New River General Store where you can rent canoes and tubes or use them as a shuttle for your own watercraft. The unit has everything that you need for a last-minute getaway. The hot tub was awesome! The unit itself was older but clean and comfortable. The mattress on the bed was not the greatest, but was okay. We would rent this property again. Also it is 7 miles from Shatley Springs Restaurant.

Manager Responded on 8/15/2017

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at The Hideaway. We hope you will stay with us again.

Nice Location With Just a Couple of Hiccups

Tim F. from Arvada, CO
Stayed 3 days ending August 2017

Overall, this was a decent stay. The "cabin" was clean and organized and the location overlooking the river was nice. It's very easy to access the water from the property and there is a little general store within a short walk that can supply you with most needs, including canoes or kayaks.

My words or warning are that the place is quite small. It's big enough for a couple and that's it. A pet would be fine as well. The pictures show a futon in the living room, but that is no longer there, so don't expect a second sleeping option. There is just the one queen bed.

Manager Responded on 8/24/2017

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your recent stay at The Hideaway. We hope you stay with us again soon. We also be getting new pictures of the living room

Relaxing mountain retreat

Thomas B. from Mooresville, NC, US
Stayed 4 days ending October 2017


Manager Responded on 10/20/2017

We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your recent stay at The Hideaway. We look forward to having you stay with us again.

Hide away house

Kellie Lee U. from
Stayed 2 days ending November 2017

The hide away house had alot of bugs in it. The first night we stayed only 1 bug came out but then it was like it alerted them to all come out. The tv barley had any channels, the shower was extremely small. The rental place was asking A LOT out of us. There were many rules and regulations as if we were buying the house.

Manager Responded on 11/9/2017

Thank you for leaving a review of the Hideaway. We certainly wish you had contacted us during your stay. We would have been happy to address any concerns and issues you had during your stay.

Nice quiet get away....

Brandon T. from Middlesex, NC
Stayed 2 days ending January 2018

Cabin was very clean, it was a little small but perfect for two people. Very nice people to deal with and no problems during our stay. A great place to get away from everyday stress and relax and unwind. Will def come back in the spring...

Manager Responded on 1/17/2018

Thank you for leaving a review of The Hideaway. This is a great cabin for two people just relax and unwind. New River State Park is just up the road from this cabin and New River General store is within 1/2 mile of the cabin.

great place on the river

Christy S. from Mocksville, NC
Stayed 2 days ending June 2018

a great place on the river quiet and peaceful the cabin was really nice great for 2 people.

Manager Responded on 7/11/2018

Thank you for leaving a review of your recent stay at The Hideaway. We are delighted that you enjoyed it.

Great Location and Cozy Place

Amye B. from Statesville, NC
Stayed 2 days ending August 2018

We really enjoyed staying in this cozy place. It is a great location overlooking the New River plus it is within walking distance from an outfitter organization which works out great if you want a day to float the river. The hot tub is a nice touch to relax in after your day on the river. If this place ever goes up for sale we would love to make an offer!

Manager Responded on 8/10/2018

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay at The Hideaway. New River Outfitters is just a short distance from the cabin and offers canoe and tubing. We look forward to having you stay with us again.

Great Quiet Getaway Location

Annie H. from Castle Hayne, NC
Stayed 7 days ending September 2018

The property management company was extremely helpful during our stay while evacuating the Wilmington area during Hurricane Florence! Communication was great and they went the extra mile to make our stay as easy as possible, despite the situation.

Manager Responded on 9/25/2018

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your recent stay at The Hideaway. We glad that we could be of help during your evacuation. We hope you will stay with us again.

Our stay at the Hideaway

Carlton D. from Pittsboro, NC
Stayed 3 days ending May 2019

It was not as pleasant as we had hoped. When we arrived the hot tub was not working and had to be repaired by a service person and water treated prior to use. The quality of the water was very poor and had to be used and flushed prior to being used. The water also had a very distinct oder and appeared to be hard.
The center support for the bed is missing and which made sleeping uncomfortable and not very restful.

Manager Responded on 5/29/2019

Thank you for leaving a review of your recent stay at The Hideaway. Unfortunately, the hot tub did have to be repaired the day of your arrival. We will look into the center support for the bed. We do hope you will stay with us again.

My best vacation in several years

Deborah P. from Gastonia, NC
Stayed 4 days ending June 2019

There were no rocking chairs,the shower is small,the dryer doesn’t dry, the refrigerator leaks water on the food, & the surround for the hot tub needs repair& could use a step up into the tub, you would not be able to get up the driveway in a normal car. Those were the only negative things I can say, we enjoyed this trip so much. Clean cabin, small but great for 2 people. It was our best vacation in several years

Manager Responded on 6/26/2019

Thank you for leaving a review of your recent stay at The Hideaway. We are happy to hear that it was your best vacation in several years. We will be addressing the issues that you mentioned in your review for future rentals. We look forward to having you stay with us again.

Some issues, but a great place with a fabulous view

Anonymous from Lenoir, NC
Stayed 3 days ending September 2019

Let me preface this with the fact that my wife and I had a great stay at the Hideaway.
However, there were things that were an issue for us- primarily the water. It had an algae-like smell to it and a discoloration that made us uncomfortable so we went to the store and bought distilled water for drinking and cooking. It may have been fine, but we are used to city treated water.
Check-in was a bit slap dash. We had NO CELL service until we drove all the way back to West Jefferson. This is a problem when getting the key code for the cabin when you are on location. Likewise there is no Wi-Fi so outside communication is not an easy proposition. If you WANT to get away from everyone it is GREAT in that regard. We did, so it wasn't really an issue except on check-in.
The other issue is depending on the honesty of the previous occupants about washing the linens and dishes. I would feel much better knowing a cleaning service took care of that responsibility prior to my stay anywhere.
The cabin itself is nice- though in need of some minor cosmetic repair because of carpenter bees. Also there was a wasp nest under the deck under the spa so we had to be conscious of that when we entered the hot tub.
The view of the river and the view of the sky are SUPERB. The house is extremely comfortable and the deck is AWESOME for being outside. I imagine we were on it 3/4 of our waking hours.
An old timey country store with canoe/tube rental is about a two minute walk away from the cabin. And there is a great access point to the river behind the store.

Manager Responded on 9/6/2019

Thank you for leaving a review of your recent stay at The Hideaway. The water issue that you experienced is called sulfur water and is common in the mountains. While the water is safe to drink and use, it can have an off putting smell. We do ask guests if they have a cell phone provider that is known not to work in the mountains to please contact us prior to the day of arrival to make arrangements to receive the lockbox code so check-in can be seamless. We do have a cleaning service that goes in after each rental. We will have maintenance address the bees nest. We are happy to hear that you did enjoy the deck and the hot tub. This cabin does offer fantastic river views and is close to New River General Store. We do look forward to having you stay with us again.

Nice Getaway

amber c. from mount holly, NC, US
Stayed 7 days ending August 2019

My husband, dog and I enjoyed our stay at the cabin. It was overall a nice stay although we did have an issue with the cable not working when we got there and no internet access even though VRBO indicated it was available. We were able to communicate with Carolina properties and they quickly fixed the TV issues. They refunded some of our money for the misrepresentation by VRBO about internet being included. The hot tub was nice and lots of privacy since cabin is located up on hill on it's own. The bed was comfy but the TV's and shower were extremely small. There was somewhat of an odor to the water but we have experienced that from staying at other cabins in the area before so I don't think it was exclusive to this cabin only. Overall a decent stay.

Manager Responded on 9/4/2019

Thank you for leaving a review of your recent stay at The Hideaway. We have had VRBO update the listing to correctly reflect that this home does not offer internet. The water does have a smell to it but is safe to drink and most times the smell will dissipate if the water is ran for a while. We look forward to having you stay with us again.

Quiet Get Away

Pam M. from Danville, VA
Stayed 9 days ending September 2015

Amazing place to rest and get peace and quiet. Great views, Not far from places to go and enjoy the mountains. Close amities Grocery stores & restaurant's Etc.. Love this Cabin and Rental Company!!!

Perfect hideaway

Gabriela T. from Davie, FL
Stayed 4 days ending January 2016

A perfect vacation. Love it definitely coming back. Clean, quite, just ideal to disconnect from the ordinary.

Manager Responded on 1/11/2016

We are so thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay at The Hideaway. It is a great place to disconnect and unwind.

We won't return!

colleen l. from Lexington, NC
Stayed 3 days ending July 2016

The view was awesome! The hot tub was what we wanted. Other than that, all negatives. I had to wash dishes and flatware AND pots before using them! The house was VERY TINY so one would expect to utilize the nice deck. Problem: 2 chairs and NO TABLE!!!! NO table!!!Shower is super tiny. Ants in the kitchen. Bring your own charcoal and lighter AND don't plan on grilling your last night because you have to clean out the grill and you can't with hot coals! Life is too short to pay good money for this kind of a stay!

Manager Responded on 7/13/2016

We certainly wish that you had contacted us during your stay with your issues and concerns. We provide an emergency after hours number and would have been happy to have address any issues during your stay.

Aptly named, the Hideaway!

Anonymous from Hillsborough, NC
Stayed 3 days ending August 2016

Very quiet and private: lovely valley to gaze at. Hot tub on deck quite nice.

Lovely Getaway

Anonymous from Kernersville, NC
Stayed 3 days ending October 2016

We definitely enjoyed the location and our stay. The cabin was very clean and had all that we needed. A few suggestions would be more comfortable outdoor furniture to take in the amazing view from the deck, give up a side table for more indoor seating, and at least one decent television for a movie / rainy day.

Wonderful weekend

stephen b. from Durham, NC
Stayed 2 days ending November 2016

Great cabin. Lots of privacy, but only 15 minutes to restaurants. Hot tub was very nice! Extremely quiet. Dog friendly. The view of the river is amazing (sitting on deck or eating at table with blinds open). It only felt small when getting up half-asleep at night. Perfect if you want to hide from the real world and enjoy nature. Only (very small) issue was the directions were slightly confusing as they stated the second cabin, this is the only cabin once you turn to go up the little road. I plan to stay here again.

Perfect romantic getaway

Heather B. from Burlington, NC, US
Stayed 2 days ending April 2017

We really enjoyed our stay, our only wish was that we would have stayed longer than the weekend. It was so peaceful at this location. The place was very clean and comfy. We will definitely be coming back and will recommend this to our family and friends. We were also happy that we were able to bring our Fur baby. She enjoyed the hike at the New River Park that was just down the road. No complaints!

Great Location but Property has "Opportunities"

Anonymous from MATTHEWS, NC
Stayed 2 days ending April 2017

We just stayed there this past weekend. The area in general is beautiful (Crumpler, West Jefferson, New River) and the property location is nice: right across the road from the river. We loved that the property was remote, yet close to the New River State Park and West Jefferson. We had a great hike in the Park and canoed on the New River (Zaloo's Canoes). The property itself is exactly as you see it in the pictures. The only reason we gave it a 3-of-5 rating is the condition/maintenance of the property: 1) refrigerator leaks onto food in the fridge, 2) the place smells of urine, 3) there were many ants in the kitchen (yes, we realize the property is in the mountains, but it's pretty easy to spray regularly and control the ants), 4) the tap water smells really bad and has brown residue in it, and 5) there are some black mold spots/corners.